IT Disposal Market Research

By : Forum Member
Published 3rd October 2017 |
Read latest comment - 5th October 2017

Good morning everyone

I'm a total newbie so I hope this is ok... After being in the industry for 20 years, I recently took the plunge and set up an IT Disposal and data removal service.  I have all the relevant licences but I haven't started trading just yet although I intend to in the next couple of weeks.  I attended a new business workshop yesterday and one of the topics covered was market research so I am wondering if you kind people could help me out with this? My two key questions are:-

What are the main things you expect from an IT Disposal service?

What made you decide to use your current service provider?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated....

Thanks in advance!

Uniq-IT-Recycling
Comments

Hmmm I have no need for this service myself so I am not much help but in theory I think I would like to know how my IT was being disposed of, is it environmentally friendly, responsible and what guarantees are there that is correctly destroyed and the data can't be stolen.

Good luck with your business, preparing before you start is a great sign you will be successful in my book. 

Hi there, interesting line of business.

For our office I tend to take care of IT disposal. Old printers and any kit that can't be reused either goes in one of the big bins we have on site, or goes down the local tip for recycling. For any hardware that can be reused or still has a value, then it goes on ebay.

I tend to remove and physically destroy hard drives, rather than let them go for resale or worse