Search for
Business Type
Location / Postcode

Art Restoration & Picture Cleaning in Warwickshire by Town

County Flag of Warwickshire by JimmyGuano - Own work. Licensed under CC0 via Commons

County Flag of Warwickshire

Facts and information about Warwickshire

The county is split into five districts which are:

Warwick, North Warwickshire, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Rugby, and Stratford-upon-Avon.

Warwickshire contains 18 towns with a population of over 5000: Alcester, Atherstone, Bedworth, Bulkington, Coleshill, Henley-in-Arden, Kenilworth, Leamington Spa, Nuneaton, Polesworth, Rugby, Shipston-on-Stour, Southam, Stratford-upon-Avon, Studley, Warwick, Wellesbourne and Whitnash.

According to the Office of National Statistics the estimated population of Warwickshire mid-2014 is 551 594 people. Most people assume Coventry is in Warwickshire but since 1974 it has been in the West Midlands, although is surrounded on three sides by Warwickshire. Warwickshire actually contains no cities and the county town is Warwick, despite the biggest town population-wise being Nuneaton.

Sporting highlights include Warwickshire containing the town of Rugby where Rugby was invented and Warwickshire winning the County Cricket Club Championship 5 times.

The county has many links with great literature. Apparently author J. R. R. Tolkien based Middle Earth on Warwickshire. Stratford-upon-Avon is famously the birth place of the word master William Shakespeare and has been host to the Shakespeare festival every year since 1769. Interestingly Shakespeare was born and died on the same date, 23 April and there were 52 years in between the two events. Another great writer George Eliot was born at Arbury Hall near Nuneaton.

Back to Art Restoration & Picture Cleaning by County