Search Engine Optimisation for laymen and newbies

By : Administrator
Published 19th May 2020 |
Read latest comment - 1st December 2023

I've been playing with SEO since 2002, and although techniques come and go, the basic concepts and ground rules are still very much the same, which I have used time and time again.

This is an updated version of an older post, which seemed to help a lot of people at least gain an understanding or insight into the perceived dark arts of Search Engine Optimisation which is simply a form of digital marketing.

It also takes into account Google crusades against elements of the SEO industry, and explains some of the pitfalls and how to avoid them!

Note - This is an introduction to a complex subject and is aimed at business owners either having a go optimising their own website, or arming themselves with some basic knowledge, before considering paying someone else!

I've added links at the end to help with resources and suggested further reading such as the superb SEO education provided by Moz. So bookmark, revisit and take it step by step.

If you think I'm wrong, I've confused you, or it actually made sense, feel free to post a comment at the end or even share 

Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)

What is it?
The ability to get somebody searching on Google, Bing or Yahoo for a product or service, to come and visit your website.

How?
By configuring and setting up your web pages so search engines (ie Google) understand what your content is all about, and give you a fighting chance of showing up in Googles search results for relevant queries.

Since the dawn of the search engine, the primary method of getting your content displayed has been keywords.