Search for
Business Type
Location / Postcode

Airports in East Yorkshire by Town

East Yorkshire

Previously the borough of East Yorkshire it is now known as East Riding of Yorkshire and is a ceremonial county and unitary authority. The estimated population according to the Office of National Statistics as of mid-2014 is 590,800 people. East Riding of Yorkshire covers 930 square miles and includes Kingston upon Hull but this is also a separate unitary authority in its own right.

The largest settlements in East Riding of Yorkshire are Anlaby, Beverley, Bridlington, Cottingham, Driffield, Elloughton-cum-Brough, Goole, Hedon, Hessle, Hornsea, Howden, Kingston upon Hull, Kirk Ella, Market Weighton, Molescroft, Pocklington, Willerby, Withernsea and Woodmansey.

East Riding of Yorkshire is one of the least socially deprived areas in the country and is predominantly rural. Pockington was the last town in England to burn a witch, Old Wife Green, in 1630. The word Riding actually comes from the Norse word Thriding meaning a third, as Yorkshire was divided into three parts known as Ridings.

Bridlington is a traditional British seaside resort and has been a settlement for people for over 3,000 years. The Bridlington Priory celebrated its 900 year anniversary in 2013, unfortunately all but the nave was destroyed with the dissolution of the monasteries by Henry VIII in 1537. Withernsea has an unusual lighthouse as it is half a mile inland and now a museum. This occurred due to the building of large sea defences and the huge sea wall, after the lighthouse was built.

Back to Airports by County