Who works at the weekends?

By : Forum Moderator
Published 10th November 2017 |
Read latest comment - 4th April 2018

I have lots to do this weekend, I'm a Mum to two small ones so I don't get heaps of time to work in the week and when I have a big job on the go I have to work weekends. I'm looking for some solidarity, who else is working this weekend? I will definitely need lots of tea and biscuits to get me through!

Comments

I used to work weekends ,well since I arrived here in 1998 , worked every third weekend .Since I lost that 1 and got my new job I don't and i can tell you it is utter bliss not to have to work on weekends anymore and I think I would rather turn a job down now than work again.. 

Thanks,
Andy-C | Pewter World

Sadly I don't have much choice as it's that and evenings mostly, while my children are still young! Childcare is extortionate and I'm passionate about being there for them as much as I can. Might give myself Christmas Day off though

I was a teacher and always worked weekends, both to catch up for the past week and to 'get ahead' for the following week.

Now I am a florist with my own flower shop. I work 6 days a week but always take off a Sunday and won't do any work, even if it means finishing off paperwork in the evenings the following week. There are a few days in the year, Mothering Sunday and wedding fairs that I can't get away with it though and have to open up or go out to work.

I think Christmas Eve this year will be busy. It falls on a Sunday.

Saturdays are very variable depending on the time of year, whether we have a wedding or event on; sometimes our shop is crazy on a Saturday, other times it's quiet. If I don't think I will have much on, I arrange to meet with brides to discuss their weddings so I don't feel angry that I am giving u my precious time.

I hope the meets with brides went well Izzy, not that you'll be looking at this work based forum until Monday now